WhatsApp Starts Letting Users Delete Messages After They’ve Been Sent

Tech
WhatsApp is finally pushing out the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature with the stable build of the device. The update is available for Android, iOS and Windows Phone operating system. This update will be pushed out gradually across all these platforms. This new feature can prove to be the day saver for many since the WhatsApp has become the hub of both personal and professional communications.
WHATS APP NEW FEATURE
WhatsApp is currently rolling out the ability to delete and revoke messages after they’ve been sent. The function has been in testing as a hidden feature in several earlier versions of the mobile chat app but is officially live this week.
Going forward, WhatsApp users will be able to delete messages from conversations and group chats up to seven minutes after they’ve tapped the send button, as long as both sender and receiver have updated to the latest version of the app.
The new option, called “Delete for everyone” will appear in addition to “Delete for me”, and is already showing up for some users when they select a message to trash.
What is ‘Delete for Everyone’?
Ever come across a situation where you’ve sent the wrong message to the wrong person? This is where this new feature will help. WhatsApp has become the go-to application for all communication, be it personal or professional. With such blurred lines in between, it’s easy to mix up names and occasionally send an inappropriate text to someone who was not supposed to receive it.
Using this feature the sender can tap of the erroneous message and select the ‘delete for everyone’ feature. This will delete the text on the receiver’s device. However, there are terms and conditions attached to this. The message can only be deleted within seven minutes after being sent.
However, In order to be able to delete a message, you will have to have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on your iPhone or Android device. What’s more, the recipients will also have to have the latest version installed.
WhatsApp cautions that your friends may still read your message before it’s deleted. And, of course, they can always screengrab it before you’re able to banish it to the digital netherworld.
Though, the option is a huge bonus to the messaging service. Never will you have to suffer an awkward WhatsApp moment again.
Tagged

Review Overview

Summary

Leave a Reply